Victoria “Tori” Ray, of Brunswick, earned a 4.0 grade-point average for the 2016 Fall Semester and the 2017 Spring Semester at Wesleyan College in Macon. She has been named to the school’s distinguished list of Presidential Scholars. Phi Kappa Phi, an honorary society, recently presented her with a certificate of outstanding academic achievement.


The University of Alabama, in Tuscaloosa, awarded approximately 5,000 degrees during its recent spring commencement ceremonies. Local degree recipients include:

• Brunswick — Leah Seay, Master of Arts

• Kingsland — Cynthia Green, Bachelor of Science in commerce and business administration; Dana Sweeney, Bachelor of Arts and Thomas Woolf, educational specialist

• St. Simons Island — Baranda Hagen, Master of Arts


Abigail Schott, of Brunswick, was named to the Wartburg College Winter/May Term Dean’s List. Wartburg College is in Waverly, Iowa.

The list honors students who earned a cumulative grade-point average of 3.5 or above in at least five course credits during the two terms. Four of the five course credits must be graded with a traditional letter grade.


Meghan Crews, of Hoboken,was recognized during the Valdosta State University 2016-2017 Graduate Assistant of the Year Awards Ceremony by Odum Library’s Archives and Special Collections.

Every year Valdosta State University faculty, staff, and administrators honor top graduate assistants for the contributions they have made to the promotion of research, teaching and service while pursuing their advanced degrees. The students are nominated for a special end-of-year recognition ceremony based on their reliability, quality of work, initiative, uniqueness of contribution, and professionalism. Twenty-one students received nominations this year.


Valdosta State University recently announced its Spring 2017 Dean’s List. Students who achieve a semester grade point average of 3.5 or higher on nine or more semester hours with an institutional grade point average of 3.0 or higher are recognized by being placed on the dean’s list. Developmental studies, transients and graduate students are not eligible for dean’s list status.

• Brunswick — Drew Childers, Ava Deverger, Emily Epper, Kyara Haywood, Maggie Herndon, Carly Howard, Colleen Kavanaugh and Elizabeth Riccio

• Hoboken — Morgan Thomas

• Kingsland — Holly Barfield, Chelsea Beadle, Michelle Bentivegna, Christine Blackmon, Gene Clifford, Adam Egge, Caitlyn Ghiglieri, Whitney Griffin, Tonya Hall, Andrea Kloetzke, Kacie Moore, Chanraksmi Pel, Jennifer Rainer, Megan Shaw and Brady Whitehouse

• Nahunta — April Harris

• St. Marys — Emily Albrecht, Christopher Bartek, Tyler Begley, Jennifer Duddleston, Niakia Fontes, Nicholas Heinrich, James McCanney, Samuel McCanney, Kayla Oliver, Marc Ruotola, Katie Shaver, David Spees and Shannon Swenson

• St. Simons Island — Hope Lamb, Arielle Madala, Lee Romance and Ashley Smith

• Waynesville — Alexis Johns

• Woodbine — Brendan Collins, Maria Echols, Crystal Henderson, Justin Sumner, George Thrasher and Eathren Walker


Two area first-year students were recently awarded scholarships from Valdosta State University. The scholarships were established by private donors and awarded each year by VSU Foundation to students with excellent academic achievement and/or demonstrated financial need. The recipients are:

Colleen Kavanaugh, of Brunswick, who received the General Fund Scholarship.

Michael Clark, of Kingsland, who received the Maggie Webb Bridges and Michael Anthony Stoddard Fund Scholarship.


Georgia Institute of Technology, in Atlanta, recently presented degrees to approximately 3,800 undergraduate and graduate students during its 253rd spring commencement exercises. Local students included:

• St. Simons Island — Matthew Barteau, Master of Science in computer science; Patrick Driscoll, Bachelor of Science in business administration; Tyler Graff, Bachelor of Science in business administration; Heather Jones, Bachelor of Science in business administration; Alexander Moran, Bachelor of Science in computer science and Bachelor of Science in industrial engineering and Irish Scholten, Bachelor of Science in computer science.


The University of North Georgia, in Dahlonega, awarded more than 1,800 degrees and certificates for the spring 2017 semester. Local students included:

• Brunswick — Ashley Lynn Bluestein, Doctor of Physical Therapy.

• Kingsland — Katelyn Rae Morton, Bachelor of Science in Nursing.

• St. Simons Island — Natalee Brooke Miles, one-year certificate, gerontology-undergraduate.


Ryan Stewart, of Brunswick, a student at Piedmont College in Demorest, was named a Spring 2017 Dean’s Scholar. To be named a dean’s scholar, a student must achieve a 4.0 grade point average while taking 12 or more semester hours.


Laurann Herrington, of Brunswick, is among the more than 370 accepted students who have indicated their commitment to attend Oglethorpe University. Oglethorpe, founded in 1835 as a liberal arts and sciences university, is excited to welcome Laurann this fall as one of our newest “Stormy Petrels!” The Class of 2021 will start classes on Aug. 21, 2017.


Wofford College, in Spartanburg, S.C., recently announced that Madison Delaney Myers, of St. Simons Island, has been named to the 2017 Spring Semester Dean’s List. To be named to the dean’s list, a student must be enrolled for at least 12 semester hours of graded courses and attain a semester grade point average of 3.6 or higher.


Brandon Dwayne Banks, of Brunswick, recently graduated from Culver-Stockton College in Canton, Mo., with a bachelor’s degree in communications. He is the son of Charlotte Jackson and Christopher Banks, both of Brunswick, and the grandson of Eddie Singleton and Bernice Singleton of Brunswick and the late Charlie and Lucille Banks, formerly of St. Simons Island.


The Webb School, in Bell Buckle, Tenn., recently announced its A and B honor rolls for the fourth quarter of the 2016-2017 school year. Richard Ebri, 10th grade student from Brunswick, was named to the B honor roll.


William Carter Friddle graduated from Woodberry Forest School in Woodberry Forest, Va., on May 27. He will attend the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Friddle is the son of former St. Simons Island residents, Mr. and Mrs. Terry G. Friddle, currently of Charlotte, N.C.


Georgia State University, in Atlanta, recently announced the names of local students who attained the Spring 2017 Dean’s List. To be eligible for the dean’s list, students must earn a 3.5 grade point average for the semester and complete at least nine semester hours of academic credit with no incompletes.

• Brunswick — Brittany Mosley, Charles Neugebauer, Marcus Passmore, Symone Hall, Ryan Reed, Tara Dixon and Tyler Lewis.

• Crescent — Jesse Bush.

• Kingsland — Michelle Cortes, Ryan Sprague, Tierra Acoff and Victoria Morrison.

• St. Marys — Christopher Gentile.

• St. Simons Island — Ashton Bauer, Margaret Hayes and Stuart Bryant.


Georgia State University, in Atlanta, recently announced the names of local students who attained the Spring 2017 President’s List. To be eligible for the dean’s list, students must earn a 4.0 grade point average for the semester and complete at least nine semester hours of academic credit with no incompletes.

• Brunswick — Christopher Seelochan, Shelby Slayton and Zachary Murray.

• Kingsland — Trey Robinson.

• St. Marys — Jenna Granger and Jacob Perkins-McLinn.

• St. Simons Island — Hannah Taylor, Kelly McKenzie and Samantha Blount.